Individuals who plan to earn a teaching degree in New Hampshire or wish to teach in the New Hampshire public school system should know some important information about:
Also included here is a list of additional resources and a comprehensive directory of fully accredited teaching degrees in New Hampshire.
A bachelor’s degree is the minimum degree required in order to obtain teaching certification in New Hampshire. There are nine colleges and universities that offer teaching degrees in New Hampshire. Currently, 48.7 percent of New Hampshire teachers possess a master’s degree or higher. This higher degree results in an average salary increase of around $3,200 per year when compared to New Hampshire teachers who have only a Bachelor’s degree.
Students pursuing teaching degrees in New Hampshire have a variety of state-based scholarship and grant options. Scholarship sources include the state government, non-profit organizations, colleges and universities, and professional teacher organizations. For example:
Altrusa Laconia Scholarship: Rose Emery Scholarship
This scholarship is available for a female student pursuing a degree in education.
Dennise Maslakowski Graduate Education Scholarship Fund
This scholarship provides funds to graduate students currently enrolled in a Master’s or Doctoral education program at Plymouth State University.
NHTM Pre-Service Mathematics Education Scholarship
This $1000 scholarship is provided to a junior or senior student seeking a teaching degree in New Hampshire with plans to teach mathematics after certification.
Louise Tillotson Teaching Professional Development Scholarship
This scholarship awards up to $1,000 to an individual currently holding a teaching degree in New Hampshire. The funds may be used for the completion of professional development and/or continuing education courses.
McCabe Leadership Scholarship Fund
This scholarship is awarded to a graduate student enrolled in CAGS or EdD program at Plymouth State University.
Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program
This federally funded grant program awards up to $4,000 per year to students pursuing a teaching degree in New Hampshire and who demonstrate financial need. Students must agree to work in a high-need private or public school for a minimum of four years.
New Hampshire currently offers five types of teaching certificates/licenses. These are:
New Hampshire state teacher certification requirements include:
New Hampshire requires teachers to participate in Professional Development Education in order to maintain and constantly improve knowledge and skills. The state requires a minimum of 75 continuing education hours to be eligible for recertification. Those holding endorsements in multiple areas are required to complete 30 hours in each endorsement area and 45 hours that are approved under Ed 505.07.
The following resources provide additional information for those pursuing teaching degrees in New Hampshire.
New Hampshire Department of Education
The state of New Hampshire comprehensive site provides information and resources for individuals who are in pursuit of a teaching degree in New Hampshire.
New Hampshire Department of Labor
Review available positions, find training options, obtain forms and stay up to date with new laws and publications.
NEA New Hampshire
A New Hampshire professional teachers’ association.